top of page
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black

The 2018 Patrick White Playwrights Award and Fellowship

Right: Patrick White.

Sydney Theatre Company is inviting applications from Australian playwrights for the 2018 Patrick White Playwrights Award and expressions of interest for the Patrick White Playwrights Fellowship. The prizes are designed to benefit both emerging and established writers and have a total prize pool of $32,500.

The Patrick White Playwrights Award offers a cash prize of $7,500 for a full-length unproduced play of any genre written by an Australian playwright over 18 years of age. The readers and judges assessing the scripts seek a work that is original and ambitious with great potential for staging.

The Patrick White Playwrights Fellowship is a career advancement opportunity for an established Australian playwright whose work has been produced professionally in Australia within the last four years. The winning playwright receives a $25,000 prize in recognition of their body of work and previous artistic achievements, and includes a commission from Sydney Theatre Company.

In 2010 STC increased its contribution to the development of Australian playwriting with the introduction of the Fellowship which recognises and supports established Australian playwrights.

The Fellowship runs in addition to the Patrick White Playwrights Award, which has been an annual initiative of STC since 2000. The current Patrick White Playwrights Fellow is Sue Smith and previous winners were Andrew Bovell (2016) Tommy Murphy (2015) Kate Mulvany (2014) Angela Betzien (2013) Hilary Bell (2012) Patricia Cornelius (2012) and Raimondo Cortese (2010). As well as completing a commission for STC, the Fellowship involves participation in a range of activities at STC, including mentorship of STC’s Emerging Writers’ Group.

Previous winners of the Patrick White Playwrights Award include Kim Ho (2017), Lewis Treston (2016), Neil Levi (2015), Debra Thomas (2014) Chris Summers (2013), Anna Barnes (2012), Phillip Kavanagh (2011), Melissa Bubnic (2010), Ian Wilding (2009), Nicki Bloom (2008) and Angus Cerini (2007).

Entries for both the Award and Fellowship will close at 5pm AEDT Friday 16 November 2018. The winner of the Award and the Fellow will be announced at a special event in May 2019 along with a reading of the Patrick White Playwrights Award winning play.

Further information about the Award and the Fellowship can be found at the STC website:

bottom of page